You must be 21 years of age when
the Texas Department of Public Safety receives the full application.
You must have been a resident of Texas for the last 6 months; however, a regular visitor to
Texas can apply if their home state does not have a handgun license law.
You may NEVER have been convicted of a felony, and you may NOT have been convicted of a
Class A or B misdemeanor within the last 5 years.
You may not have been convicted of the Class C misdemeanor Disorderly
Conduct in the last 5 years.
You may not have been found by a court to be in default on any student loan.
You may not have been found by a court to be in default on any state or city taxes.
You may not have been found by a court to be in default on child support.
You may not presently be charged with a:
2)Class A or B misdemeanor;
3)Class C Disorderly Conduct.
You may not be currently under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order
affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property
You may not (in the last 10 years preceding the date of application) have been adjudicated as
having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony.
You cannot have made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in
an application submitted to Texas Department of Public Safety.
You cannot have been convicted twice within the last 10 years for any Class B misdemeanor, or
greater, involving the use of alcohol or a controlled substance.
You cannot be a fugitive from justice; a chemically dependent person; or a person of unsound